Our aim is to provide young people with the highest quality education, accessible to students of all abilities.

What you will learn

What you will learn in KS3

Students follow a series of units created by Loxford staff. These units help students to develop confidence in a range of programs. Finished work is presented in the form of an e-portfolio.

The learning units are:

Year 7
Programming with Scratch
Loxford School multimedia presentation

Year 8
Life in the Digital Age
Databases and spreadsheets
Creating games with Missionmaker

Year 9
GCSE ICT (Single or Double Award)

What you will learn in KS4

Students who choose ICT as an option continue with the GCSE ICT course and complete the Double Award (2 GCSEs)

Students who do not choose ICT as an option have 1 lesson each week in Year 10 only and complete the Single Award of the GCSE ICT course (1 GCSE)


What you will learn in KS5

Students can choose between A Level Computing (AQA) and a BTEC Extended Diploma in IT (Edexcel), which is worth 3 A Levels.

Unit 1 Problem Solving, Programming, Data Representation and Practical Exercise
Unit 2 Computer Components,The Stored Program Concept, and the Internet
Unit 3 Problem Solving, Programming, Operating Systems, Databases and Networking
Unit 4 Computing Practical Project

Units 1, 2 and 3 are assessed by examinations.
Unit 4 is assessed by coursework.

BTEC Extended Diploma in IT 
You will complete 18 units, all assessed as coursework. They combine investigating to how organisations use IT to practical units in which you build different types of multimedia products.

Year 13 Curriculum overview : Advanced Diploma in IT / Computing

Click picture to view.

Year 12 Curriculum overview : Advanced Diploma in IT / Computing

 Click picture to view.